Kelowna Civic & Community award nominees revealed

The finalists for the 42nd annual Civic & Community Awards have been named. The City of Kelowna’s annual award ceremony recognizes volunteers, artists, athletes and business leaders that made significant contributions to the city.2016 award finalists by category are:Fred Macklin Memorial Award – Man of the Year
Garry Benson
Brett Millard
Jason PicklykSarah Donalda-Treadgold Memorial Award- Woman of the Year
Shannon Christensen

Story continues below

June Nicolay
Kelly TavernerYoung Male Volunteer of the Year
Andrew Kates
Cassidy Murrell
Kristian OppenheimYoung Female Volunteer of the Year
Megan Phillips
Gabriela Rubio
Gillian SmithCentral Okanagan Foundation – Volunteer Organization of the Year
Canadian Mental Health Association, Kelowna Branch
Kelowna Gospel Mission
Project Literacy Kelowna SocietyCorporate Community of the Year Award
Small /Medium Business
Moga Moms
Third Space Coffee
Volinspire Community Contribution Company
Large Business
COSTCO Wholesale, Kelowna
Home Depot Kelowna
Winn RentalsHonour in the Arts
Karen Close
Adam Meachem
Rena WarrenTeen Honour in the Arts
Julia Chambers
Andrew Kates
Andrea SorestadAugie Ciancone Memorial Award – Female High School Athlete of the Year
Ashlyn Day
Natalie Hope
Nicola LopesAugie Ciancone Memorial Award – Male High School Athlete of the Year
Taylor Knoll
Flynn McCarthy
Justin PeleshytykBryan Couling Memorial Award – Athletic Team of the YearThe Kelowna Mission Junior Bantam Lions Football Team
The Kelowna Senior Secondary Owls, Senior Boys Basketball Team
The UBC Okanagan Heat, Women’s Volleyball TeamBob Giordano Memorial Award – Coach or Sport Administrator of the Year
Kendall Gross
Gord McGinnis
Randall WrightMale Athlete of the Year
Trevor Stirling
Rostam Turner
Gareth WilliamsFemale Athlete of the Year
Olivia Gran
Taylor Ruck
Jordyn YendleyChampion for the Environment
Nancy Mora Castro
Spider Agile Technology
Value Village, Kelowna
The award recipients from each category will be revealed at the Civic & Community Awards Gala on Wednesday, May 10 at the Kelowna Community Theatre.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>